Where People Matter and God is experienced

I’M NEW

Welcome to Calvary Church

0H9A8439.jpg
CAG_5037.jpg

Welcome!  We are so excited for you to become a part of our church family.  Our passion at Calvary is to see all people of all ages and backgrounds come together to experience the love and hope of Jesus Christ.  We love helping people discover Jesus and follow Him.  So we can’t wait to connect you to our church and numerous ministries where you and your entire family can thrive.  


What to Expect

When you arrive on the Calvary Church campus you can expect to see a friendly greeter with a smile at all of our doors.  Our welcome team will even help you navigate through the building to find our nursery, kids church, classrooms and restrooms.  Every welcome team member is equipped to help you have a comfortable and enjoyable experience.  We have welcome centers to find out more about Calvary Church and we have a security team keeping a diligent eye for the safety of our entire facility.

In our service you can expect dynamic and powerful worship by a live band.  You will hear our lead pastor, along with other pastors and guest speakers, teaching relevant and life-giving messages from the Bible.  We take communion once a month and collect offering every week.  We never pressure anyone, especially our first time guests or new attendees to give, unless they feel compelled to do otherwise.  Most importantly, you can expect to feel the love and presence of God and the love we have for each other!

 

For My Family

Calvary Church is all about families. We believe that the family plays a vital role in our church. We offer weekly services, small groups, and classes for your children, teens, and young adults. In addition, we have classes for parents throughout the week.

On Sunday mornings, we have 2 morning celebration services. During these services, we offer Nursery and Kid's Church. On Wednesday evenings, we offer opportunities for the entire family! The Burning Youth meet at the Calvary Community Center campus every Wednesday night at 6:30pm. Our Calvary Young Adults group meets every Tuesday evening at the Calvary Community Center at 7:00pm. There are many opportunities for you and your family to get involved here at Calvary! Check out our ministries page to see how every member of your family can get plugged in!

Bible_Study_H_BLNK.jpg

Who We Are

 
0H9A8784.jpg

Learn more about our story! Check out our story to the right, Where We’ve Been.

Calvary Church is not just another church.  We began as a small group of ordinary people in Edna Gooden’s kitchen sharing a common goal to know Jesus and share His life transforming love with Kent County. That love has touched hundreds to thousands as we have reached out to meet the physical, social, mental and spiritual needs of our community for over sixty years.

As a multi-cultural community of people, we gather together to worship God, receive biblically-based yet culturally relevant messages to learn how to follow Jesus and become more like Him.  We challenge each other to grow and be ready to take Jesus’ love in tangible ways to our neighbors, co-workers, the broken and disadvantaged, and the hungry and needy.  As we do life together with Jesus in our community, lives and our culture are changed, thereby giving Jesus an opportunity to do extraordinary things through our ordinary lives.

We hope you will join us on this courageous journey together of being and making disciples with Jesus.

 

 

Our Beliefs

Calvary is affiliated with the Assemblies of God, a worldwide fellowship of Pentecostal churches. As part of the Assemblies of God, we uphold the 16 Fundamental Truths to which all Assemblies of God churches adhere.

 

Our Team

 
 

Ministry Team

Our Ministry Team is responsible for our ministry operations and how we serve our community.

 

Roland Coon
Lead Pastor • pastor@CalvaryDover.org

Ryan Coon
Associate Pastor • rCoon@CalvaryDover.org

Dorothy Wood
Church Administrator • dWood@CalvaryDover.org

John Bowman
Family Life Pastor • jBowman@CalvaryDover.org

Rachel Tuten
Worship Director • rTuten@CalvaryDover.org

Diane Lamborn
Christian Education Director • dLamborn@CalvaryDover.org

Jody Wood
Counselor • jWood@CalvaryDover.org

Brandon Pyne
Student Ministries Director • bPyne@CalvaryDover.org

Larry Goldberg
Creative Arts DirectorLGoldberg@CalvaryDover.org

Cornelius Murphy
Care Director • cMurphy@CalvaryDover.org


 

Staff Team

Our Staff Team supports the Ministry Team in serving our community and congregation.

 

Ally Deihl
Administrative Assistant to Creative Arts Director • aDeihl@CalvaryDover.org

Randy Ramos
Digital Media Specialist • rRamos@CalvaryDover.org

Sandy Jacobsen
Connections Director & Database Manager • sJacobsen@CalvaryDover.org

Renee Calhoun
Senior Bookkeeper

Jared Lopez
Technical Director • jLopez@CalvaryDover.org

Sandy Basher
Receptionist • sBasher@CalvaryDover.org

Jessica Keller
Administrative Assistant to Church Administrator • jKeller@CalvaryDover.org

Lindsey Pyne
Administrative Assistant to Student Ministries Director • LPyne@CalvaryDover.org

Margaret Young
Benevolence Director • mYoung@CalvaryDover.org

Angela Tisdale
Next Steps Coordinator • aJtisdale@CalvaryDover.org

Volunteer_H_BLNK.jpg